MOSCOW: July 2, 2008 
Decision of the Holy Sobor of the Russian Orthodox Church On the Report of the Chairman of the Synodal Commission on Canonization, Metropolitan Yuvenaly of Krutitsa and Kolomensk

[Decreed:] To approve the work of the Synodal Commission on the Canonization of Saints during the inter-Sobor period. 

To glorify as Church-wide saints and include into the Church Calendar of the Russian Orthodox Church the following names:

    Hierarch Anthony (Smirnitsky, 1773-1846) of Voronezh, establishing December 20 (January 2) as his feast day;

    Hierarch John (Maximovich, 1896-1966) of Shanghai and San Francisco, establishing June 19 (July 2) as his feast day;

    Abbess Juliania (1300-1393) and Nun Eupraxia (1302-1394) of Moscow, establishing May 3 (16) as their feast day; 

To inform the Primates of the brethren Local Orthodox Churches of these names for inclusion in the lists of their saints. 

To authorize the Holy Synod to examine and make decisions on the matter of the glorification of saints by the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia during the period of division. 

The Scholarly Committee is to include into the curricula of theological schools the lives and theological legacies of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia of the 20th Century.


Members of the Presidium of the Council of Bishops: 

Vladimir, Metropolitan of Kiev and All Ukraine

Daniel, Metropolitan of Tokyo and All Japan

Vladimir, Metropolitan of St Petersburg and Ladoga

Philaret, Patriarchal Exarch of All Belarus, Metropolitan of Minsk and Slutsk

Yuvenaly, Metropolitan of Krutitsa and Kolomensk

Kirill, President of the Department of External Church Relations, Metropolitan of

  Smolensk and Kaliningrad

Kliment, Administrator of the Moscow Patriarchate, Metropolitan of Kaluga and Borovsk

Vladimir, Metropolitan of Kishinev and All Moldova

Hilarion, First Hierarch of the Russian Orthodox Church Outside of Russia,

  Metropolitan of Eastern America and New York

Vladimir, Metropolitan of Tashkent and Mid-Asia

Alexander, Metropolitan of Riga and All Latvia

Kornily, Metropolitan of Tallin and All Estonia

Ioann, Archbishop of Belgorod and Starooskolsk

Kirill, Archbishop of Yaroslavl and Rostov